Early Years Foundation Stage

The Foundation Stage consists of 7 areas of development, three prime and four specific.

Children should mostly develop the three prime areas first:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, Social and Emotional

The prime areas are the most essential for a child’s healthy development and future learning

As children grow these prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding of the World; and
  • Expressive arts and design.

Children in the Early Years learn in both our indoor and outdoor areas through: playing and exploring, being active and through creative and critical thinking.

A School Life Website
School Life app download
School Life app download